Latest Newsletter





The GlobVapour project has been successfully ended on the 31st March 2012.




Project Manager:

Dr. Marc Schröder (DWD)


Technical Officer:

Dr. Bojan R. Bojkov (ESA)

User Help Desk

Data Request & Technical Support:

Dr. Marc Schröder (DWD)

User Group

The formation of the GlobVapour User Group began with a User Consultation Meeting held at the German Weather Service (DWD) offices at Offenbach, Germany, on 27 January 2009. During the meeting, users from science, climate modelling and operational meteorological communities presented their needs and requirements for water vapour information.

The User Group's main objective was to provide feedback on the Requirements Baseline, the Technical Specifications, the GlobVapour products and their validation. They have guided the definition of a 'Scientific Exploitation Plan'. Users have still several other advantages, e.g. GlobVapour forum to exchange problems and/or solutions with product developers and also among users.

The first GlobVapour Users' Workshop (in collaboration with GEWEX ) took place at ESA in Frascati, Italy, in March 2011. In September 2011, the second User Consultation Meeting took place during the EUMETSAT Meteorological Satellite Conference 2011 in Oslo, Norway. The third User Consultation Meeting took place during the GlobVapour final Meeting at ESA-ESRIN in Frascati, Italy in January 2012.



Experts of the following institutes are already members of the GlobVapour User Group:

  • Brandenburg Technical University, Environmental Meteorology (BTU)
  • Collecte Localisation Satellites (CLS)
  • Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD)
  • Leipzig Institute for Meteorology (LIM)
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie (MPI-HH)
  • Science and Technology Corporation - METSAT Division (STC-METSAT)
  • Sveriges Meteorologiska och Hydrologiska Institut (SMHI)
  • Technische Universität Cottbus (TUC)
  • Goethe University of Frankfurt, Institute for atmospheric and environmental Sciences (IAU)
  • United Kingdom Metereological Office, Hadley Centre (UKMO)
  • University of Wisconsin (WISC)

The User Group is lead by R. Saunders (UKMO).


You are welcome to join the GlobVapour User Group.
Please register by email to Marc Schröder.


Contact • Links • Imprint
Project Manager: Marc Schröder (DWD)   ·   Technical Officer: Bojan R. Bojkov (ESA)   ·   The web site is hosted at Brockmann Consult